Thanks for reading

In July 2007, I wrote my very first
blog post
before I went to Cork to train with OJ. I didn’t really know how blogs worked, how long I would keep writing for, and if anybody would actually ever read what I wrote. Time has absolutely flown, and we’ve done a lot in those ten years.

I decided earlier this year that I would write my last blog post in July. I didn’t want to be repeating things I have already written, and didn’t want long gaps between blog posts. I think I have told my story with O.J now, and hopefully given people an insight into what owning and working with a guide dog is like. When I made that decision to finish my blog, I didn’t think that O.J would no longer be around. I thought he would outlive the blog, but unfortunately that wasn’t the case. I’m just very glad that I kept writing for so long, and now I have so many memories and stories of our life together to read back on.

When I began blogging, I did so to keep a record of training and working with my first guide dog. It wasn’t written to please other people. I really enjoy writing, so I usually put time and effort into putting posts together. I didn’t put much work into sharing and promoting the blog. I posted when I wanted to, not because I hadn’t posted in a few days and needed to update people about my life. It was online,and if people enjoyed reading and learning from it, then that was a huge bonus. People did interact with it and learn from it. I’ve made many new online friends, and some who I have enjoyed meeting and spending time with as a result of this blog. That was something I hadn’t expected. I really appreciate people’s thoughtful comments, advice and encouragement on the blog. Thanks especially to those of you (who I won’t name but you know who you are), who regularly left comments. It was always so nice to hear from you, and I hope we can stay in touch. Those of you who have blogs, I’ll definitely keep reading them. I’m on Facebook, i’m @ojdoherty on twitter, and my email address is
jennydoherty86(at)gmail.com
if anybody does want to keep in touch. I’ll be doing something soon in memory of O.J, so you might want to hear more about that.

All I can say now is a massive thanks to everyone for reading during the last ten years. The biggest thanks of all goes to O.J, for changing my life and being the inspiration for this blog and everything I’ve written.
Jennifer xx

8 thoughts on “Thanks for reading

  1. Quite apt that the blog that started with the excitement and, perhaps nervousness, of OJ’s arrival would end shortly after his passing. It’s been an education and an interesting journey and a pleasure to have shared some small part of that journey. Thank you for writing it. OJ was a pleasure to meet and a teacher too. Keep well Jennifer and keep in touch. Love to Sybil too of course x

    • I think you were his biggest fan šŸ™‚
      It’s funny reading back on those earlier posts, house so much changed over the years. The longer I worked with him, the more I loved working with him. Thanks for always reading and being supportive and encouraging and funny. You always seem to know how to say the right thing. If there was a prize for replying to blog posts first, you would get it. Unfortunately there is not x

  2. Damn you! You’ve just ruined my day. Reading back over your posts, especially the one you wrote just after you said good by to O.J, I’m very sad for you. I know how hard that was. Well done for keeping it going for 10 years. I’ve enjoyed reading this. Probably from the start I think!

    • That definitely wasn’t an easy post to write, but it had to be done. Thanks for sticking around for so long and reading all my waffle, as well as listening to me in real life!
      I could have kept the blog going and wrote about other things and this crazy dog that I have now, but I wasn’t able to give it enough attention. You know me, I don’t half do something. It’s either all or nothing at all.
      Thanks for all your comments and wise (and not so wise) words

  3. Selfish me wants to beg you to reconsider. we’ve known each other for so long, and the miracle of it is: we’ve never met! Hard to imagine how I’ll go on without your new posts in my in box. Please tell me you’re considering writing a book. Please…?!

    • So sorry Beth! I definitely won’t be considering writing a book. I am nowhere near as talented as you are. I will miss writing though. I’ll definitely still keep reading your blog, so you won’t get rid of me that easily. Hopefully someday we’ll get the chance to have a real conversation face-to-face. Then 10 years of blogging would have definitely been worth it. Part of me feels like we already have met, and there’s not many people online that I can say that about honestly.

Leave a Comment

