Being My Own Boss

The seventeenth challenge on my list of 30 wasn’t exactly something I had planned when I started this crazy idea back in February. However it is the one which will be the most difficult, definitely the most challenging, and the one that will have the most long-lasting impact. On 1st September, (the same day that I went surfing), I made contact with my local enterprise office, which was the beginning of my journey towards becoming self-employed. There were meetings, conversations, questions, forms, things to be clarified, lots of uncertainty on my part, and a judging panel, but last week I was given the goahead to operate
JD Audio Transcription
as a business.

 

I have been transcribing people’s audio files on an infrequent basis since I began working in Derry in 2007. I created the Facebook page a year ago and began making more of an effort to find transcription work when I was unemployed. I’ve managed to find a few regular customers (mainly involved with research) who seem happy with my work and happy to recommend me. I slowly started to realise that there is a need for this type of work, it’s just a matter of finding it. After experiencing lots of office politics and organisational changes in the places I’d worked, I was beginning to like the idea of working for myself, offering people an honest service, adjusting how I work, and being involved in more things that I enjoy. I never was a 9-5 office person, and although I wouldn’t consider myself a business person, I know I’m hard working and responsible, and I’m up for the challenge.

 

So what does JD Audio Transcription do? I transcribe audio of a non-legal/medical nature. I transcribe interviews, lectures, focus groups, workshops, conferences, seminars, radio programs, online content, material for books, and personal stories. Transcription is often required by students or researchers, which is always very interesting. I also want to expand my service to community groups, charities and people who have a story to tell. It could be used to archive the history of a family or a particular area. It could be used by people who have stories to tell but would prefer to talk than type. I have lots of ideas in my head, so I just have to find ways of advertising them and getting them out there. If anyone could like the Facebook page or pass it on, I’d really appreciate it.

 

Working with the people in the Inishowen Partnership who help set up businesses in our local area has been a great experience so far. They’ve offered me training, listened to all my concerns and motivated me and believed in my idea. They admitted that they hadn’t worked with a blind person before, but they couldn’t have been more helpful. Family and friends have also been very encouraging. It’s brilliant to have people around you who believe in your ideas, even if you don’t always believe in them yourself. The transcription business is the first of a couple of ideas that I have. I have to start somewhere, and I think this might be the easiest for now. I could never see myself working from home every day, so the other idea will be a great contrast. Before this, I wouldn’t have believed that I had the skills or the confidence to become self-employed. There is so much help out there, and it is a good option for people with disabilities to consider. It is very disheartening for people when they can’t find suitable jobs, or their disability dictates how they live and prevents them from being employed. There is a lot of help out there, and even just talking about an idea with someone can be interesting. I might be back job hunting this time next year, but in the meantime I’m going to be brave and give my ideas a go.

If you never try then you’ll never know 🙂

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Being My Own Boss

  1. Best wishes on your venture Jennifer. I know if it’s got anything to do with hard work and ability, you’ll be a great success.

  2. Agree with John’s comment above. Can you accept work from the United States? Would they have to pay you in Euros? Pounds? I am considering excerpting from your post on my Safe & Sound blog to help you get the word out. Remind me, what town are you living in now? I’d like to add that to my post about you. All good wishes on your new venture, my friend.

    • That’s very kind Beth. I’m not sure if using paypal would work? I’ve never used it before. I live in a town called Buncrana in Donegal, (which has just been voted the coolest county in Ireland!!)

  3. Congratulations on starting up your own business. I’m sure this will go from strength to strength, especially as Universities could probably use your services too. It does sound like a great idea. I hope it goes well for you.

  4. Pingback: You’re not the boss of me | Safe & Sound blog

Leave a Comment

