Darkness into Light 2016

This morning at 4:15 A.M, I took part in the first darkness into light walk ever to be held in our town. For anybody who doesn’t know, DIL is an annual fundraising event to raise money and awareness for Pieta house, the centre for the prevention of suicide and self-harm. The walk from darkness into light simbolises the hope that pieta house brings to the people who might need it’s services. The first walk took place in the Phoenix Park in Dublin in 2009, with a few hundred people taking part. This year walks took place in almost 180 venues around Ireland, as well as in other countries around the world. It is amazing how such a simple idea can be such a success.

I went to bed early but couldn’t really sleep. I gave up and got up and had a shower at 3 A.M! I felt wide awake, and Sibyl was too. Dougal had the sense to know that it was the middle of the night, but Sibyl was full of life so I brought her for the walk with me. I went with my mum and my three aunts. It was a very mild night, not cold like I had expected. We joined over 400 other people at the local secondary school and began the 5K walk in the dark at 4:15. The event was very well organised, with lights along the way. We brought torches, but weren’t as prepared as the people who had lights on their pet dog’s collar. We’ll have to do that next year! I kept forgetting it was so dark because obviously I didn’t really notice. I found it funny when people didn’t recognise each other, and didn’t recognise voices when people said hi as they walked past. It was all very normal for me. The route was very well chosen, and we had to walk along the beach for part of it, which I loved. We came back to where we started just before 5:15, as it was gradually starting to get bright. The birds were singing, and the atmosphere was very special.

There was tea and refreshments in the school for people who had taken part in the walk, but it was very busy, so we went to my aunt’s house and had a lovely breakfast and a chat. I came home at 7 and fed Sibyl, who went to her bed as quickly as she could. I think she had the right idea!

2 thoughts on “Darkness into Light 2016

  1. What a lovely idea for fundraiser. It sounds as if it would be a lovely way to start the day. I always find it amusing how much sighted people really seem to struggle in the dark. Especially say if there is a powercut and they have to use a torch or something just to go from one room to another. I hope Cibel doesn’t think that it’s time to get up at 4 o’clock every day lol.

  2. What a simple, yet poignant, idea. Good for you for participating –I especially like that part where you say you found it funny when people didn’t recognize each other, and didn’t recognize voices when people said hi as they walked past. As you say, all very normal for us.

    _____

Leave a Comment

