30 Challenges: Baking a Cake

I’ve been very slack with my 30 challenges idea, having done nothing in March, but April is a different story.
Well it started that way anyway. My friend Francina has started baking cakes during the last year, and she’s really amazing at it. She suggested that I bake one with her help, so last Friday we spent 3 hours baking one for my nephew Danny’s ninth birthday.

I have baked apple tarts, buns and banana bread, but I know absolutely nothing about cakes, so this was fun. We followed Donal Skehan’s recipe for chocolate cake, with the most amazing sweet cream ever in the middle! Francina gave instructions, measured and supervised, while I poured, sieved and mixed, and tried not to mess her kitchen too much! While the cake was cooking, we organised the icing. Danny loves football, so Francina cut out black and white pentagons and hexagons to put together to make a football on top. We used letters on the icing to write ‘happy birthday Danny’, and she even dyed some cream to make grass around the bottom. When Fran decides to do something, it’s always done 100% and this cake was no different.

Apart from having lots of fun, I learned a lot about baking cakes. There are lots of useful gagets you can use to measure ingredients and design the cake. The thing for piping the cream was my favourite! I also learned that vodka has it’s uses when sticking icing together. Don’t worry, the alcohol does evaporate!
We put the cake in a box and I gave it to Danny the next day after dinner. I don’t know if it was because his birthday is today so the cake was three days early, or if it was because it was football related, but he was so excited and thanked me about ten times, telling me that it was the best cake he’s ever had. It did taste lovely!

I have lots of photographs and videos of the baking process. Pity I’m useless with technology and don’t have someone hear to put them up on my blog.
Thanks so much Fran for taking the time to do this and making it so enjoyable. Thanks for helping me to do another new thing for the first time this year.

Leave a Comment

