These are a few of my favourite things…

Happy new year! Let’s hope 2016 is a healthy and happy one for everybody.

Thankfully I had another lovely Christmas, spent with family, friends and dogs. I celebrated a friend’s birthday, went to an engagement party, had a couple of nice meals out with Nicky, cooked very little (which is always a bonus!) and enjoyed some lovely dinners with my family. I think Sibyl enjoyed her first Donegal Christmas. We stayed in my sister’s house on Christmas eve, and my parent’s house on Christmas night, and she loved the change of scenery. The three dogs spent lots of time together, and we all had a couple of nice walks together in between the showers of rain.

As usual, I got lovely presents for Christmas, far too much to be honest. There was no need for half of it, but people were so generous and thoughtful with the useful things they chose for me. Sometimes you get one or two presents that you really won’t use, but I rarely do. New clothes, a clock for my kitchen (I have no clocks in my house), vouchers for cool discs, heating oil and River Island (talk about a random collection!) and money were all brilliant presents. I did get three others that I was really excited about:

Nicky gave me a digital radio for my room. I have very bad reception upstairs, so tend to listen to a lot of radio on my phone. I don’t like doing this because I’m constantly charging it, and I hate using mobiles any more than I have to.

I got an early 30th birthday present of Hunter wellies from my parents. My birthday isn’t until February, but they thought I might as well use them now during the wet weather. I can walk the dog around the muddy park and still look cool! I’ve also discovered that I can get the overpriced socks much cheaper in the children’s section of shops. Having small feet is great!

My new favourite toy at the minute is something I got for Christmas that I’ve wanted for the last year. I got the
NutriNinja
which is the coolest juicer/smoothy maker ever! I like eating well, especially fruit and veg, but sometimes find it hard to eat enough fruit, and use it up when i buy it since I live on my own. The idea of a big bulky kitchen appliance that’s difficult to clean put me off getting one, until I saw my brother in law’s Nutribullet. The ninja is the same thing. It’s small, and everything is blended into one cup that you can actually drink out of if you want, so there’s not much to clean at all. It’s safe and easy to use, and from a blind person’s perspective, this is great. They are expensive, but definitely worth the extra money for this reason. I’ve only made two smoothies for breakfast yesterday and today, but already I absolutely love this thing! It’s going to get lots of use in my house.

8 thoughts on “These are a few of my favourite things…

  1. Happy new year to you too.

    I find with my wellies i had to buy walking socks for them. They come to just above my ankle as i found the knee high ones seem to go on forever lol. Unfortunately, they are a 3.5 so the walking socks kind of pad them out a little. I had to also buy insoles with an instep as i got terrible shin splints when they were totally flat.

    That Neutrininga sounds pretty cool. Sounds like you’ll have fun with it.

  2. Hi Jen happy new year. I just had my 29th birthday on the 10th Jan and Uma turned 8 on the 30th December. I don’t have hunter wellies but j live my wellies too for dog walking as Uma loves mud and water!

    Pleased you had a nice Christmas and new year I haven’t read your blog for s while but have enjoyed reading about Sybil. How are coping with yelkow dog hair!

    • I think I walked through a small river in my wellies today!
      The hair is a pain, and I definitely prefer black hair, but she’s a great dog apart from that, so I can forgive her!!

Leave a Comment

