Our Weekend in Cork

I went to Cork on Friday to attend the service dogs of Ireland seminar I mentioned in my previous post. O.J had a play on the beach, followed by a walk on Thursday, so he was looking good for the weekend. He was the only guide dog at the event, and behaved very maturely, making me very proud!

When I arrived at the Corin Centre in Fermoy, Andrew who organised the event was the first person I met. He put a lot of time and effort into this event, and should be happy with what he had achieved. There was a good crowd, and four of the five charities were very well represented. Irish guide dogs had three members of staff, but since no guide dog owners were informed about the event by the charity, there were none there except me. This was quite disappointing, but I’m glad I came, and I enjoyed spending the day with their staff, who were very helpful.

Each of the five service dogs charities gave interesting presentations. I particularly enjoyed Dogs for the Disabled, who used a dog to demonstrate how a person using a wheelchair can be assisted by a dog. The dog helped to pull off her gloves, pull off socks, and most impressively, pick up a bottle she dropped and put it in the bin. Assistance dog owners spoke of the lifechanging difference having a dog has made to their children with autism and their families. This story is so touching, no matter how many times you hear it. We had discussions about access issues and legislation among other things. The president of the Irish Kennel Club gave an interesting talk in which he promised financial aid if the five organisations decide to come together and form an umbrella service dogs group. So many topics were discussed, its hard to remember them all. With Andrew’s permission I recorded the event, and I’m hoping to transcribe some of the information in the next few weeks, just for future reference encase anybody wants it.

Apart from the talks, I really enjoyed meeting lots of friendly people and lots of gorgeous dogs. I was lucky enough to be sitting in front of a Newfoundland who was a therapy dog. Needless to say, I just wanted to keep petting him all the time. Probably luckily for his owner I moved seats after lunch, and ended up sitting behind Thorp, a Newfy x Retriever who was also beautiful. I loved getting to pet lots of labradoodles and golden doodles, since I am interested in knowing more about these breeds. The highlight of all the people and dogs was meeting Clive, Murray and Fiona. I’ve been reading
Clive’s blog
since Murray was nine years old and now he’s sixteen. It was lovely to finally meet them. Clive is taller than I’d expected, and I think Murray is too! I wish I could have talked to him more, but the room was noisy and busy with lots of dogs. I got a photo taken with them both which was really nice. Fiona was great, introducing me to all the doodles and describing them for me. Hopefully someday we’ll meet again and get a proper chat.

I traveled to Cork with my aunt, and we stayed with her son who lives there. We had a lovely weekend relaxing, going for walks and spending time with their children. O.J and I were spoiled there, I think we could have easily stayed a bit longer!

3 thoughts on “Our Weekend in Cork

  1. OJ is such a fabulous service dog, and you, my dear, an excellent guide dog handler. I’m not sure I’d have the stamina to be in a place like that with so many dogs around — I’d be spending most of my time disciplining Whitney to “rest” and she’d be figuring out clever ways to ignore me. I admire your peserverance and determination. Go, Jen, go!,

    _____

  2. Hi Jennifer,

    Delighted you enjoyed weekend in Cork.

    Our brood bitch, Heidi, is there at the moment. She came into season last Saturday week and was taken to the Centre on the Sunday. We were wondering if you saw her there. We have not heard how she is getting on. Hopefully she will be mated and have another litter. She was not mated last time she came into seasons she had a cyst on each of her ovaries. Will keep you informed.

    Up kerry for next Sunday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Doreen and Joe

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Comment

