We’ve Moved!

Don’t worry, I haven’t moved house already.
Our office has moved into our new premises in Ballymacool in Letterkenny!
After renting office space for around thirteen years, DCIL finally moved into the purpose-built house they bought and renovated. It’s got lots more space, it’s own separate training room that can be rented out, and lots of lovely ground outside. It’s a bit out of town which means at the minute I have to depend on people to bring me there, but we would have never got a building as good in town, so it’s worth the compromise.

I went to the building twice last week with O.J, just to have a look around and become more familiar with the layout before I had to start working in it. It’s a lot more open-planned and noisy in the main reception area, but somebody (without even realising it) was being very helpful when they put my computer on the desk beside the radio so it’s easy to find straight away.
Today was our first full day working in the office and it was really nice. I put O.J’s bed close to the main door where it’s a bit cooler. He’s not right beside my desk, but not far away, and he has more space. Luckily for him, he can look around him, and gets petted by most people as soon as they come in the door. I got my first school today too, even though I haven’t even contacted schools about this year’s project yet. That was a nice surprise!
The new building has a really nice feeling to it, and we’re hoping that the move will help to raise the profile of our organisation and the work we do.

I did my bit for awareness of disability related issues last Friday. I went to the Highland Radio studio and had a chat with Greg Hughes, who was filling in on the Shaun Doherty show. The interview was organised in response to a lengthy discussion about dogs not being kept on leads, which took place the day before. I began talking about that, and ended up talking about lots of different things, including getting in a quick plug about my work and our big move. O.J lay quietly in the studio, and enjoyed all the attention he got at the station.
I enjoyed meeting Greg, and I’m very glad I went to Letterkenny rather than just being interviewed over the phone. It also made me realise that I miss radio work a lot, and if I could get into the area of radio that I like, I’d definitely like to do more of it in the future.

My brother has been here and gone since I blogged last. As usual we spent lots of family time together. I went to Dublin for the day with him and my sister. O.J was left at home but he was probably glad. He’s been going for more walks now that he’s practically fully recovered. We visited a friend in Portsalon, and that weekend, we went for a drive around Donegal, had a picnic and watched our local football team win a final.

So all in all, we’ve been busy. Not blogging busy, but busy in other ways.

2 thoughts on “We’ve Moved!

    • Hi! It would be great to finally meet you all. I’m looking forward to the day now, though I don’t really know what to expect.

      For some reason your comment ended up in my spam, which I always forget to check. So sorry if you’ve commented here before and I haven’t replied. That would be why.

Leave a Comment

