Because I’m Happy…

I’ve been thinking of a reason to blog for the last few days, and that seems as good a reason as any.

I seemed to spend a lot of time last month feeling tired, thinking about my next dog a lot (even though it’s hopefully eighteen months away yet, and I don’t need to think about it), and worrying about not having a job and not knowing exactly what I want to do.

A friend’s hen weekend was the perfect distraction. We stayed in
this amazing house
for a few days. People came and went, and we had lots of fun. We spent an afternoon at
Jungle NI,
which I’d definitely recommend. I don’t do as many outdoor things like this as I should, but it’s so much fun. The treetop climbing course took me completely out of my comfort zone, especially since my friends made me go first, but it’s one of the best things I’ve ever done. The instructors were so helpful, and encouraged me to try everything. The idea of a blind person up 80 feet high (even though I was in a harness) didn’t phase them at all. I was on a high for the rest of the weekend after that!

Last week we found out that I got funding for another year of disability awareness training from Irish Aid. They gave us everything we applied for which surprised me, but I’m so grateful. I’m looking forward to working on improving the workshops over the summer, and meeting at least twice as many students as we met last year from September onwards.

O.J had a 24 hour tummy bug last weekend in Carlow, which he generously passed on to Orrin. He had his annual vaccination this week, and it was a relief to have a few things checked and hear that the vet was happy. It seems that the st. Bernard we met a couple of months ago might have bruised his ribs a bit, but he’s in no discomfort at all. Since he left the vet, he’s been full of energy and just wants to play all the time. He’s so cute! I took my dad for breakfast this morning, and O.J practically ran the whole way into town. My dad said, ‘Am I getting slow or something, or is that dog getting faster?’ Even the staff in the cafe laughed at his enthusiastic entrance into the building. Dougal has been in a brilliant mood for the last couple of months too. It’s like owning a puppy again. Let’s hope it lasts, because when the dogs are like this, we all have so much fun! We intended going for a short walk the other day, but ended up making it three times longer, just because when we got going, we all seemed to be in the mood to walk. I love when that happens.

Today I spent a few hours helping a couple of people with assignments for a Braille course they are doing. I don’t know if Braille has slightly changed, or I’ve invented my own unique way of writing some contracted words over time. Either way, I think we all learned a few new things.

Finally, I’ve been listening to music again recently. Counting down the days until the new David Gray album comes out at the end of June. My favourite piece of music at the minute is from the new ‘other voices’ series 12 album. It’s called ‘the Finnishline’ and it’s by Colm Mac Coniomaire. I’ve been dying to hear it again since first hearing it in February when he played in Derry. It’s not online, but trust me, it’s magic!
If anyone’s still reading, what music are you listening to these days?

One thought on “Because I’m Happy…

  1. Am curious: what does it mean when you say you got funding for another year of disability awareness training from Irish Aid? Is that a paid job, so you don’t have to worry so much about employment? I hope so — you sound great!

    _____

Leave a Comment

