My New Favourite Toy!

I detest hoovering. Of course I do it, but I hate it! I’m a bit of a perfectionist at times, so I hate missing bits. So it takes a lot longer than it would take a sighted person to try and make sure the floors are all clean. Luckily I have a PA, and use a couple of hours on a Friday to have my house cleaned well once a week, but sometimes there is a lot of hair downstairs. Dougal doesn’t shed hair, but when O.J and Orrin are together, they can sometimes shed a bit.
Anyway, I’ve found a lazy, but very helpful way of keeping the hairs away..

Last week I bought a
robot vacuum cleaner
in Aldi. I’ve wanted one of these for ages, but they always seemed like the type of gadget I couldn’t justify spending money on to be honest. This one was under half the price that I’ve seen them for sale before. I know it probably isn’t as good as other brands, because I believe you get what you pay for with things like this, but it’s got a two year guarantee so I thought it was worth a try. The hoover itself is quite small, and not very noisy which is good. It moves in a circular motion, cleaning the floor and returning to bits it missed. Apparently it returns itself to it’s charger when the battery dies, which is very impressive, but I haven’t seen it doing that yet. I’m not sure that it’s too great on carpet, but downstairs in my house is all wooden floors, and that’s where the dogs stay, so I’m not too worried about that. It doesn’t specify that it is a pet cleaning hoover like some of the other robot vacuum cleaners do, so naturally it’s not going to be as good as those. The hoover needs emptied after every use because it doesn’t hold much. Suppose doing that is a good habit to get into anyway!

As you can see, I don’t do technical reviews very well, but a robot vacuum cleaner seemed like a more lighthearted topic to write about than some of the stuff in my head these days.

3 thoughts on “My New Favourite Toy!

  1. Thanks for this –I’ve considered getting one of these but was always skeptical if it would work. With your endorsement now, maybe I’ll give one a try.

    _____

  2. Just wait till the summer till both dogs start shedding properly and then we will see how well it copes. I am always skeptical in these situations Beth but my friend had one of these types of hoovers a few years ago and he found it good at the time. I suppose they will get better and better with time. I won’t personally be rushing out to buy one of the self-driving cars though haha.

Leave a Comment

