Feeling Old

Its my birthday today, and even though I was in Thailand this time last year, I still had a lovely day, and a nice weekend of celebrating.
I went for dinner on Friday night with my mum, sister, aunts and cousins, a sort of “mothers and daughters” night. The food was lovely and the night was mostly good fun. Nicky was up for the weekend so we took the three dogs for a run on the beach with my nephews on Saturday. It was Orrin’s first time with O.J on the beach, and I think he loved having a big dog to play with again. He has slowed down a lot when he is playing, which is totally normal but something I hate noticing. They went into the water and got covered in sand, so my mum and I had to shower O.J and Orrin when we got home. They were still too wet for us to take them with us when we went for dinner in the evening, so we went on our own. Again the night was lovely and the food was amazing.

The dogs got more walks and playing yesterday and today, since the weather has been lovely for the last few days. I had a very relaxing birthday, and got some lovely presents. They included flights to Edinborough and a necklace with my birth stone (from Nicky), money and flowers (from my Godmother), clothes and a picture for my house. The funniest and most surprising present was from my friend, who has become very dimesticated since she got married and moved house. She recently bought a drill, and knows that I need pictures put up in my house. She bought me a towel and toilet roll holder for the bathroom, and is coming out during the week to put it up, along with pictures, a coat hanger and anything else I need. These are the kinds of silly jobs I really want done to make my house look a bit better and less plain inside, so even though its a strange one, it was a very thoughtful and appreciated present!

My birthday was a nice excuse to take the weekend off from the essay I’m writing as part of my course. Tomorrow, I’ll be back researching autism and checking the wordcount until I get 1500 words! 🙂

One thought on “Feeling Old

  1. Belated Happy Birthday Jennifer. You’re only as old as you feel! I’m fortty and still feel young and Opal keeps me this way! Nivea works wonders for maintaining your youthful appearance! I wouldn’t be without it! Enjoying your blog! Keep it up!

Leave a Comment

