Fighting Over The CD Player

I’ve been listening to lots of music in the last couple of weeks. Its not all necessarily new music that’s just been released, but its been keeping me happy so I thought I’d mention it here.

I’ve been meaning to get a Moving Hearts album for a long time and bought ‘the platinum collection’ on Amazon last week while I was buying a book for my nephew. It was interesting to hear what they sounded like, and the type of music Christy Moore was making at that time, which is obviously why I was interested in hearing the band in the firstplace. I prefer how Christy and Declan play these songs live now. That’s not saying they aren’t good of course, but just that I prefer them more acoustic.

I might have given Moving Hearts more of a chance if I hadn’t become adicted to ‘the road to Escondido’ by JJ Cale and Eric Clapton. I recently found out its the album I listened to and loved on the journey to Thailand. They both play so well together, and its one of those albums that just puts you in a good mood.

‘Rhythm and repose’ is the first solo album from Glen Hansard, released on 15th June. It neither sounds like a frames album or a Swell Season album, which is exactly what I was hoping he would make. If its a solo album it has to sound different from what he’s done in the past. He has been working with different musicians in New York, and along with a different producer its all sounding good. Some of the tracks display that raw emotion in his music that you usually only hear properly when he plays live, and that’s what I love about it. The vocals sound much more mature. and From reading and hearing him talk about it in interviews, he seems like he’s in a really happy place musically right now, and that sound transfers to the album. Its an album that could be easily dismissed at first, but if you give it a chance it really grows on you.

 

Paul Simon’s 1986 album ‘graceland’ is one of my favourite albums of all time. I only heard it for the first time when I was studying in Belfast. A friend called Ronan gave me about ten albums on mini-disc, I liked most of them but was adicted to ‘graceland’ straight away. Naturally I was delighted to get a copy of the new

25th anniversary addition

 

and its brilliant. The DVD documentary ‘under African skies’ tells the story of Simon contraversially making the trip to Africa in 1984, the impact that had on the musicians, and the making of the Grammy award winning album. Its a fascinating story, and well worth buying for the DVD alone.

 

So, what are other people listening to these days?

 

5 thoughts on “Fighting Over The CD Player

  1. Well, you just can’t beat JJ Cale and Eric Clapton — but I did love that Graceland album, too. The video sounds fantastic, I’ll give it a listen. Thanks for the recommendation, and keep them coming. PS:I’m enjoying a band called Horse Feathers these days out of Portland Oregon —

    • Well, I am looking forward to hearing Eric and JJ together. Have always been a fan of Eric. Moving Hearts are certainly a little different to the Christy stuff you would be use to hearing. Maybe it will grow on you. Nice to see you in a Paul Simon mood. Someone told me you might be going to see him in a few weeks if you are good? 🙂

  2. Cool Beth I’ll have to check them out.
    Nicky I’m going to Paul Simon alright, for definite. I’ll be on my best behaviour just so I don’t miss it. I’m sooo excited now, maybe even more excited than seeing Bruce the following week, and I never thought I’d say that.

  3. Love that Graceland album too – still remember like yesterday a guy at university raving about this new album. I bought it and it has never dated. Also remember every house at Uni having a 2LP set of Moving Hearts. Bought the platinum collection too – it’s my driving (too fast) on a Summer day with the window down cd. Just as well we don’t have many Summer days or I’d be done for speeding!! Like Glen Hansard’s solo stuff too. Currently listening to Gretchen Peters “Hello Cruel World” – a gem of an album. She’s in McGrory’s Culdaff in July. Can’t listen to Smoke and Strong Whiskey anymore without thinking of my pal OJ.
    Great to have music in our lives.

    • I can imagine you speeding around with the windows down and the radio up loud, revving the engine the odd time 😀 Maybe if I had a car I’d enjoy it more. Will have to listen to that album then. Heard a lot about her (the Hansard fella has mentioned her before) but i haven’t really listened.

Leave a Comment

