Christy and O J!

Appologies for the lack of blog posts, and this one being so late. I finally and reluctantly decided to move my blog to wordpress, because the new blogger was really annoying me. I did seriously consider giving up blogging, but I must not be ready to do that just yet.
Anyway… that’s not the point of this post, its much more interesting than that!

Last Saturday Nicky and I (and the dogs) went to see Christy Moore in the Millennium Forum in Derry. I bought Nicky the ticket for his birthday as he had never seen Christy play a full gig before, and that’s something that needs to be seen, at least once! We went for dinner in the restaurant in the venue before the gig, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was lovely and I’d definitely recommend it.

It probably goes without saying at this stage that I thought Christy and Declan were fantastic. They seemed on top form as soon as they came onstage. I sat in the front row and Nicky sat behind me. We should have done this the other way around, because Ralph lay a lot quieter than O J did. The sixth song in the set list was ‘smoke and strong whiskey’, which Christy dedicated to O J. He told the audience that he had met us a couple of years ago in Buncrana, and O J was the most beautiful dog he had ever met. Towards the end of the song he called OJ’s name, and whispered “here boy” into the microphone, and OJ jumped up wagging his tail, to the amusement of the people in our row who could see him. I’d left a message on Christy’s guestbook saying that we were going to the gig, but I honestly wasn’t expecting him to mention us in such a nice way, so it was a lovely surprise!
The rest of the gig was fantastic, Declan’s playing was flawless and Christy was as funny as ever when he interacted with the audience. They are two performers who I can watch over and over again and still be fascinated by what they do.

People came up to say hello to O J after the gig because they knew who he was. It was great to meet up with some of the 4711ers, who were all great craic! They were very welcoming when we joined them for drinks after, and John officially became OJ’s best friend!

Seeing Christy and Declan made the bank holiday weekend very special, and I can’t wait to do it again. We finished off the weekend with dinner and drinks in my house with my sister, brother in law and their friends, before going to the pub to watch a live band who were good, but nowhere near as good as the performance the night before!

Set List (thanks to Petra)
Saturday, May 5th, 2012:

1. Hiroshima Nagasaki Russian Roulette
2. Cliffs Of Dooneen
3. Mcllhatton
4. Back Home In Derry
5. The Time Has Come
6. Smoke And Strong Whiskey (for Jennifer + OJ)
7. Beeswing
8. Does This Train Stop On Merseyside
9. Gortatagort
10. Sixteen Fishermen Raving
11. The Lonesome Death Of Hattie Carroll
12. Away You Broken Heart You
13. Missing You
14. Don’t Forget Your Shovel
15. Song of Wandering Aengus
16. Scapegoats
17. Sunshine In (Declan singing)
18. True Love Knows No Season (Billy Gray)
19. No Time For Love
20. Black Is The Colour
21. Joxer Goes To Stuttgart
22. My Little Honda 50
23. Amsterdam
24. Tyrone Boys
25. Viva La Quinte Brigada (aborted)
26. Ride On
27. This Is The Day (So Do I)
28. The Voyage
29. Delerium Tremens
30. Minds Locked Shut
31. Ordinary Man
32. Four Strong Winds (for Levon Helm)

A special night in the Walled City … The Cliffs of Dooneen came in as a noble call – note: requests may as well be sung and not shouted… Back Home In Derry, Tyrone Boys and particularly Minds Locked Shut are having a very special meaning in this city … Honda 50 and Amsterdam were dedicated to a certain Dutch listener …. So Do I and the surprise song Four Strong Winds were particularly lovely renditions. And who knew that special dogs like special songs ? Smoke And Strong Whiskey is OJs favourite song …. Great vibes in a lovely venue – a high energy gig.

10 thoughts on “Christy and O J!

  1. The gig was certainly amazing. It certainly was a lovely birthday present for me. I know the doggies enjoyed it also. The music just had me totally enthralled. I am definitely going to see him again. It was lovely for O.J and you to get that mention from him. We just have to keep O.J away from the smokes and you from the Whisky. 🙂

  2. I’m glad OJ got a mention and that you haven’t given up blogging!
    Take care, and don’t forget to check out my post on wordpress although you seem to have the hang of it. Only thing you seem to have to approve comments. Xxx.

    • Torie, I’ve set it so comments don’t need to be approved but they still seem to take a while to come through. Importing the blog was surprisingly easy and in general i like the site, but not as quick on it as i was with blogger, but supposed i’ll get used to it.

  3. Ah brilliant. Your on wordpress now. I’m delighted. I think it’s much easier to use than blogger or any other system for that matter.

    I haven’t been to Christy in years. Your post will motivate me to make sure I don’t leave it too long before going again.

    • He’s in fantastic form these last few years Darragh, so I’d definitely recommend seeing him. Replying from my email for the first time, so that’s another reason to love wordpress!

  4. I’m glad that you decided not to give up on blogging because I enjoy reading your posts. I used the old version of blogger for a school assignment. While the old version was a little simpler than WordPress, I have come to like wordpress better once I got used to it. I especially liked being able to set up my account with complete independence as there is no word verification required to create a blog. As with anything new, it takes some time to get used to, but once you do, I think you will find it was worth the hassle to be able to send a message to sites like Blogger that when they make their product inaccessible, you can take your business elsewhere!
    Sounds like a fun gig! I can imagine that must have been an amazing surprise to have a song dedicated to OJ!

  5. The only thing is you can’t take a new paragraph on the comment form. I didn’t know you could approve comments automatically.
    Once you get used to it you’ll be grand. I didn’t know you could have comments approved automatically. Yeah the importer is quick. Xxx.

  6. Gig was brilliant Jen – definitely the best of the two nights and OJ was the star of the show. Think he’ll be looking to get on the Late Late Show next. Really good to see both him and Ralph working well.

    • John he’s wondering when his next gig is. Even said he’d love to go with you next weekend when I’m on a hen weekend. You two get on really well 🙂

      • Would love to take him with me Jen – he’s a big softie. He might misbehave when he gets you away though 🙂

Leave a Comment

