Choice Music Prize 2010

The shortlist for the
Choice Music Prize
– Irish Album of the Year 2009 was announced yesterday. The nominations are as follows:

And So I Watch You From Afar “And So I Watch You From Afar” (Smalltown America)
Bell X1 “Blue Lights On The Runway” (BellyUp)
Codes “Trees Dream in Algebra” (EMI)
Adrian Crowley “Season of the Sparks” (Chemikal Underground)
Dark Room Notes “We Love You Dark Matter” (Gonzo)
The Duckworth Lewis Method “The Duckworth Lewis Method” (1969/Divine Comedy Records)
Julie Feeney “Pages” (Mittens)
Valerie Francis “Slow Dynamo” (VF)
Laura Izibor “Let The Truth Be Told” (Atlantic)
The Swell Season “Strict Joy” (Plateau)

Nominations are not based on record sales or radio play, but on the quality of the albums alone. The award is similar to the mercury music prize in the UK. It always causes debate, as people might not agree with all the albums chosen, but that’s all part of the fun.
The award winner will be announced in Vicar Street on 3rd March. All the nominated artists will perform before the winner is announced. Tickets go on sale on Monday.
Guess who has their tickets already?… me!
I won them on today fm last night in a competition where you had to text in who won the award last year. I’ve never been to Vicar Street before so I’m very happy!
I just have to decide who is coming with me, whether I’m taking O.J or not and depending on this, where will I stay.

Obviously I’m in a much better mood now. The weathers improving as well so I can go for walks and go and see my friends at the weekend. It’s all good!

Leave a Comment

