Bruce and the E Street Band

When I saw Bruce Springsteen
last year
I thought it was the best gig I’d ever been to and that nothing could beat it, but last nights one was even better.
Myself and a friend got the bus to Dublin yesterday morning and, eventually another one to a mate aka Hollocaine’s house where we were staying. We weren’t really sure where we were going and wanted to get there as soon as possible. A woman who was a passenger on the bus complained because she got a small rip in her trousers from something sticking out of the seat, so we were delayed for about 10 minutes. It obviously wasn’t funny for her but we did laugh!

We got to the R.D.S at 3,30 and began the lovely wait until the gig started. We got wrist bands and got close to the stage, but had to wait for three hours inside the arina. It rained from 4 until after 10 but when the band came on nobody cared.

The band came on and hardly stopped at all between songs. Every musician was brilliant as usual and Bruce interacted so much with the audience, who loved every minute of it. They began appropriately enough with ‘who’ll stop the rain’ and it didn’t stop until after Bruce pointed at a cloudless part of the sky and played ‘waitin on a sunny day’. I was so happy when I heard the beginning of ‘thunder road’ as I really wanted to hear it live. The crowd singing along to ‘the river’ gave me goosebumps, and I loved the fact that you thought a song was almost over and the band would go into it again and play for another few minutes.
For anyone who doesn’t know, Springsteen fans make signs requesting songs and hold them up for Bruce to read. He went into the crowd a couple of times and collected lots of them, before organising them and playing a selection of songs that were requested. You never know what to expect at this point so it was good fun. Roadies had to keep coming onstage to mop the water away, but it didn’t stop Bruce from running around and going crazy. He must be very very fit!
There is a small guide dog connection in all of this. My friend noticed someone with an Irish guide dogs hat standing behind us at the end of the gig.

I have never sang and jumped so much at a gig, and my calf muscles are aching today. We got home at half 5, tired but happy that we had just seen the best gig possible. I would have went tonight if I could, and can completely understand why so many people last night were going again.
I’m off to Dublin again in the morning, but I’ll talk about why when I come back.

Set List:
July 11, 2009
Dublin, Ireland
RDS

Who’ll Stop The Rain
Badlands
Cover Me
My Lucky Day
Outlaw Pete
Out In The Street
Working On A Dream
Seeds
Johnny 99
Ghost of Tom Joad
Raise Your Hand
You Can Look (But You Better Not Touch)
Seven Nights To Rock
For You
Thunder Road
Because The Night
Waiting On A Sunny Day
The Promised Land
The River
Kingdom Of Days
Lonesome Day
The Rising
Born To Run

Hard Times
Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out
American Land
Bobby Jean
Dancing In The Dark
Twist & Shout

2 thoughts on “Bruce and the E Street Band

  1. Great review Jen! Sure sounds like you enjoyed it!I'm going to Leonard Cohen next Monday and counting down the days!! I asbolutely love his music.Take careFiona

Leave a Comment

