guide dogs cycle and more

This Sunday, a group of cyclists will leave Mizen head in Cork, and begin a cycle to Donegal in aid of Irish guide dogs. They will arrive in Malin head on Friday afternoon.
I have gone to meet the cyclists at the finishline for the last few years. Every year they try to convince me to do the cycle and I keep telling them maybe next year. I need a few things before I can commit to it though:
1. to get fit
2. Somebody to train with me, which involves cycling a tandem!
3. Motivation and willpower
If I ever get all those things I just might do it, but don’t get your hopes up. It won’t be happening any time soon.
In the meantime you can visit
http://www.mizen2malin.ie
to find out more about the cycle and how to sponsor the cyclists.

Other stuff:
Wednesday was the last day of the intro to counselling course. It was good but I had had enough by the end of the ten weeks. I’m starting to teach radio training for visually impaired people in work next wednesday. I’m a bit nervous but I know two of the people attending so that should help.

I went shopping for dog stuff today. I got food, grooming brushes and a crate to help housetrain Dougal. Hopefully this will work because its very frustrating cleaning up after him almost every morning. I have to put treats in it each time he goes in so that he knows it’s a happy place. He’s got a nice comfortable bed in there as well. It will probably take him a while to get used to staying there with the door locked, so I’ll need lots of patience.
We went to a lot of shops, which OJ usually hates, and then to a chinese and he was so well behaved all day.

On the way home from Derry I got a text from OJ’s puppywalker, who found this blog. He said he is proud to have had a little input into looking after OJ. I think he had a huge input. I can’t thank him and his wife enough, and I’m glad he is interested in hearing how OJ is getting on.

Currently listening to: ‘harvest moon’ from Neil Young unplugged
Currently reading: Journey by Danielle Steel

One thought on “guide dogs cycle and more

Leave a Comment

