Stem cell treatment: am I crazy?

I know somebody who has recently been accepted to go to China for stem cell treatment. Its all very exciting!
I didn’t take much interest in this research until I heard an interview with the father of
Dakota Clarke
from Northern Ireland. Its a fascinating story.

At the moment I am unable to benefit from a treatment like this, but who knows what will happen in the future. If I was offered a treatment to restore my sight tomorrow though, I wouldn’t be tempted at all. Am I crazy?

Being blind can sometimes be a pain. You can’t drive, and it takes longer to do things. You have to deal with patronising people, and people who are afraid of anything that is different.
Of course I wonder what my family and friends look like. Of course I’m curious to know what people, places and objects look like. I know I would be a very different person if I could see, but not necessarily a better one.

I can completely understand why people have opporations and undergo treatment, and really want their sight back. There’s nothing wrong with it at all, and I love hearing the success stories as much as everybody else. I think losing your sight gradually or suddenly would be very difficult, and I’m glad I’ve been blind all my life and never had to go through that pain. That’s what I’m used to, so suppose i’d be afraid of living any other way.

Is having a disability really so bad that everybody should want rid of it? I know lots of disabilities are difficult, painful and restricting. People deal with things differently, and shouldn’t be compared or generalised because of their disability. I’m healthy and happy and fortunate to live the way I do. I just happen to be blind and happy being blind.

I found an interesting perspective on this on a post on
Alex Scott’s blog
The post suggests that nobody would really want to retain their disability if they had a way of curing it. My parents enquired about treatment for me in America when I was very small, and a doctor they talked to had the same attitude. He asked them if they really thought Stevie Wonder would still be blind if he could cure his sight problem? I’ve heard that he said he’d like to see his family, so maybe he would like his sight restored, but that isn’t really the point. Assuming that nobody in the world wants to be blind is either an incorrect assumption, or I’m the odd one out!

8 thoughts on “Stem cell treatment: am I crazy?

  1. I have lost my sight gradually so yes it has its challenges … however life is good and certainly do not see the need to risk anything to get my sight back. There is a misperception that a person with a disability is not happy – not true! Some inconveniences for sure … some things that are different … but I think everyone has their challenges.

  2. There is a group of physicians, patients and other interested people working together to get treatment with adult stem cells legalized in the U.S. as it should be. The organization was formed in response to the Food and Drug Administration’s (FDA) recent position that the adult stem cells found in everyone’s body are drugs. A person’s cells (autologous) should be their own and NOT regulated by the FDA. That is one of the major reasons why most stem cell clinics are overseas. This stance is ridiculous and is costing millions of lives while sick Americans wait for the use of their own stem cells which would improve their quality of life. The FDA is not protecting us, but hurting us. Please ask your family and friends to sign up (“JOIN”), and get as many doctors to sign up as well. Please see The American Stem Cell Therapy Association (ASCTA) site Patient Site: http://www.safestemcells.orgPhysician Site: http://www.stemcelldocs.org

  3. Oh yeah, somebody feels the same as i do!!!!!!!! Yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I always thought it was just me!!!Should i be so happy about this lol? I think that i would want sight back if i was newly blind. I know that sometimes you feel down about it, and wish it wouldn’t happen, and you just want to do things, but you just have a rant. I at least think that i wouldn’t actually go researching treatmeants (which can’t happen for me either). You just think it sometimes, but you don’t take the action.I’m off to reply to your post on my blog lol, sorry. Take care, xxooxox

  4. I wouldn’t want my sight back at all now, as everything i think and feel for, and about people, has been formed on the basis that i couldn’t see them. I actually think it’s better that i can’t see as I feel I get to know, and like the real person, if I like someone, it’s because of their personality, not the clothes they wear or what their hair looks like, and now being blind is finally cool as i get to have zonta soon hahaha!

  5. It’s interesting isn’t it. I’ve been such a moaner about losing my sight and having to adapt, but I think i’m just about there. Then, the stem cells come along and i’m surprised at myself that i’m not dying to get them. The father of Dakota has given me all the contact details, but i’ve still not sent an email. Whilst my parents are planning fundraising, i’m not even sure if now is the right time to get my sight back. It’s very strange, on the other hand I am sort of holding back the email in case they say sorry we can’t help you. Then what? I’ve been living all this time thinking that one day some of my sight willl be restored. Confuzzling situation!

  6. Yeah its strange Selina, and a difficult decision to have to make. Finding out ASAP would prob be better though, cos you won’t always be wondering, and if you got accepted and were successful it could change your future plans slightly.Obviously I don’t have a clue really, but I know my friend whose having it says he’ll always regret not knowing. The fundraising started last week and I’m hoping to help him out a bit if I can.

Leave a Comment

